Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Blog Tour Review & Author Interview: Any Other Night by Anne Pfeffer

Title: Any Other Night
Author: Anne Pfeffer
Publisher: Bold Print Press
Publish Date: May 19th, 2012
Rating:


Any other night, Ryan Mills would have driven his best friend, Michael, to Emily's sweet sixteen party at the Breakers Club. Instead, determined to win over the birthday girl, he goes to the party early and alone, setting off a chain of events that ends with a car accident in which Michael dies.

Ryan blames himself for what happened to Michael. As far as he's concerned, he doesn't deserve to have love or ever be happy again. Then he learns Michael left a secret behind. Ryan feels compelled to take on his friend's unfinished business, and in the process, changes his life forever and becomes a man. ~ Courtesy of Goodreads


Any Other Night by Anne Pfeffer is so much more than a love story. It's a story of first love, heartache, and guilt. Ryan has been in love with Emily ever since he saw her dog giving her big, wet puppy smooches in front of the school while he was waiting for a ride. As he says,
I would trust a dog's judgement. This girl had to be excellent. {Any Other Night, Chapter 2}
I knew right from that moment that I would enjoy this book. Who doesn't love a guy who develops a crush based on the girl's dog? That's seriously cute.

Ryan broke my heart, while at the same time making me fall in love with him. After a tragic accident, he feels guilty for loving Emily, for wanting to talk to her. But it's his love for Emily and his own moral code (even if he doesn't realize it) that helps him overcome his grief and set him on a road of healing.

Emily has that adorable girl-next-door kind of vibe to her. Sometimes in books told from a guy's point of view, the love interest can come off shallow. "She's so pretty" or "She's so perfect." But Emily doesn't come off that way. Emily is smart and cute and her relationship with Ryan actually brought tears to my eyes at times. She could get on my nerves on occasion (Give Ryan a break, girl!), but nothing that made me dislike her.


Any Other Night was a roller coaster from start to finish, making me feel like an emotional mess. Right off the bat it drags you in with a terribly realistic turn of fate that sets off a chain of events that will leave you rooting for love to save the day. There are scenes containing sex and drugs in this novel, so it's not for the younger set, but it doesn't detract from the novel at all. I'd recommend this for readers who enjoyed books like Beautiful Disaster and Easy.


Now, I'm excited to have author Anne Pfeffer here with us, answering a few questions!

Tell us a little about yourself.

I live in Los Angeles and have written two books, Any Other Night and The Wedding Cake Girl. Over the years, I’ve managed to have more careers than just about anybody, e.g. I’ve been a stay-at-home mom, a writer, a bank vice president, and an attorney. But except for being a mom, I’ve liked my career as a writer the most.

My writing began about eight years ago. I wanted to be the next Dr. Seuss and would write these long convoluted poem-stories about our pet rabbits, Peri and Winkle. Luckily for everyone, I eventually realized this was not a good idea.

I switched to YA novels, where I (along with everybody else) am happier. I’ve been doing that for about five years now.

What inspired you to write Any Other Night?

It started as an homage to my favorite teen movie, the 1969 film, Say Anything. You could use use the same description for both:

The main character is a quirky, good-natured, but low achieving teenage boy who falls in love with the beautiful class brain, who plans to study in England. They lose their virginity together. The girl has a difficult father who dislikes the main character and interferes with their relationship. There’s a dark subplot that threatens to tear their relationship apart.

That being said, my book’s completely different from the movie in its tone and message and story line. Most people would probably not recognize a connection to Say Anything. But it’s there, down deep!

What do you find to be the most rewarding part of writing?

Working at home in my pajamas, for one thing. Also creating stories and characters that I love. And getting letters from readers, who say the nicest things about my books. It’s so heartwarming and means a great deal.

Any advice for aspiring authors?

Write the best possible book you can. Work on your craft, get professional advice on your story, take classes. When you think your manuscript is perfect, set it aside for six weeks, then come back to it. You will probably see a lot of ways to make it better. And enjoy the journey!

What's your favorite line from Any Other Night and why?

Again, you’re making me choose between my children! The favorite line that readers cite is this one by Ryan, the romantic:
If girls were flames, most girls would be a single match, a mere Bic lighter. Emily, on the other hand, would be an inferno—a raging, thousand-acre forest fire.

For more about Any Other Night check out these sites!


2 comments:

  1. I hadn't heard of this one before now, but I'm going right now to add it to my TBR! It sounds super sweet, and I think like you, I'd probably fall for Ryan!

    Molli | Once Upon a Prologue

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review! I haven't heard of Any Other Night before but this sounds really good. It also sounds a lot like a book I would love! Hah love that quote you included too, that's adorable!

    ReplyDelete

We love to read them. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...